CAPEL MAELOG Powys

Capel Maelog was within the present area of Llandrindod Wells in Powys. The original site is now buried under modern housing, but the ground plan has been rebuilt in parkland nearby. Take Princes Avenue towards Llandrindod Wells Park (follow the brown signs to “The Lake”). The reconstruction is on the left before you reach the lake.
(grid reference SO 062607  -  nearby postcode LD1 5HU)

This was a fine early church dating back to the early Middle Ages. Initially there was an enclosure here that was constructed in the 4th or 5th century. The name probably means the chapel of Maelon and it is quite likely that this was the man who gave his name to the cantref of Maelienydd. By the 9th century the site was in use as a cemetery and some time around 1100 the stone chapel was built. The building of the chapel and the coming of the Normans to the district in the person of Ralph Mortimer of Wigmore is probably not a coincidence. In the very late twelfth or early thirteenth century a new rounded apse was added encompassing the chancel and a new western apse was added to the nave, making this a unique church in Wales with two rounded apses. Was this done to show the Welsh church's independence from the Mortimers? It could certainly be called a very un-English style. The church was abandoned in the early sixteenth century.

The chapel was found during a routine excavation before the site at SO 068612 was built over by the suburbs of Llandrindod Wells. The finds from the dig have been placed in the Llandrindod Wells museum and the remains of the chapel moved to a site near the lake at SO 062607.

>Capel  Maelog
Photo of original excavation:  www.cpat.org.uk

Notes by Paul Remfry