The village of Milson lies on unclassified roads about 4 miles south-west of Cleobury Mortimer.
(grid reference: SO 640728  -  postcode: DY14 0AU) 

In 1086 Milson was an outlier of Neen Solers and therefore a part of the Richards Castle, later known as Burford, barony. By the thirteenth century the vill with church was held by the Milson family. Presumably it was the Milsons rather than the ancestors of the Richards Castle Mortimers who build the church in the early Norman period.

Milson is a gorgeous example of an early church. Presumably the nave is the oldest part of the structure, which soon had a chancel added to its east end and a tower to the west. The doorway into the nave is a lovely plain example. The church walls are pierced to east and west by deeply splayed early windows which gives the interior a most pleasing aspect. The roof is also a gem and it is to be wondered if the north and south walls would not fall over outwards if it were not for the roof beams holding them together!

The Mortimers of Richards Castle held the Burford barony for much of the 13th century. Modifications during the Mortimer period include the insertion of a window and a shoulder-headed doorway to the north. Interestingly one of the early rectangular windows in the nave has recently been converted to a round topped one.

Photo: © Philip Halling (CC BY-SA 2.0 Licence)

Notes by Paul Remfry
For more information about the church  click here

Mortimer History Society                   Charity No. 1171392             contact