

Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting held on Saturday 08th September 2021 at Orleton Village Hall.

Present: Thirteen members attended – listed at the end

Apologies: received from forty-eight members – listed at the end

1. Welcome

Hugh Wood, MHS Chair, welcomed everyone to the twelfth annual general meeting of the Mortimer History Society. After the long period of restrictions on meetings which included the cancellation of the eleventh AGM that had been arranged for March 2020, it is very good to be able to meet with friends again. It is a tribute to the Society that we adapted quickly to the new challenges with our online programme leading to increased membership.

2. Minutes of AGM 2019 and matters arising

The minutes of the AGM 2018 had been circulated with the notice of the meeting. It was agreed that the minutes be accepted as written (proposed by Mike Beazley and seconded by Kirsten Lawton-Smith).

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

3. Chairman's Report

The written report from the Trustees had been circulated with the papers for the meeting.

Hugh Wood, as Chair, presented the report on behalf of the Trustees. On behalf of all the Trustees, Hugh expressed huge thanks to Jason O'Keefe who had recently stood down as chair after eight years, during which time the Society had developed and grown significantly. On behalf of the Trustees and the members, Hugh presented Jason with a canvas print of Ludlow Castle in the dramatic light of an approaching storm.

Hugh commented in particular how well the Society had responded to the abrupt cessation of all normal activity by quickly establishing ways to keep in contact with members through a series of online quizzes, whilst assessing how best to move the whole programme onto an online platform. When the conferences and talks started online, large audiences quickly built up and we were able to attract participants (and subsequent new members) from much further afield.

Significant new developments in this period have included the Palaeography group that has gone from strength to strength with 20+ meeting regularly online to learn the skills to transcribe and translate medieval documents; and the publication of the first of a series of MHS books (*Decorated in Glory* by Professor Nigel Saul). Looking ahead 2021has seen the publication of the first volume in our series of books on the Marcher Lordships; our sponsorship for the first time of a strand at the 2021 Leeds

International Congress. Looking further ahead, exciting plans have been made for a conference at the Tower of London on 1st August 2023 to commemorate the 700th anniversary on the date of Roger Mortimer's escape from the Tower of London.

Hugh thanked all the Trustees for their hard work and support, and also our President, Paul Dryburgh.

Hugh also recorded the Society's thanks to the three Trustees who have stood down at this AGM – Andrew Colby, Stanton Stephens, and Jean de Rusett, all of whom have played their part in the life and growth of the Society.

The meeting agreed to accept the Trustees' report (proposed by Hugh Wood, seconded by Mike Beazley).

4. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer's report and the annual accounts had been circulated with the papers for the meeting.

In presenting the accounts, Mike Beazley highlighted that despite the cancellation of virtually all of the year's programme of in-person events, the society completed the year with only a very small deficit (£774) which is a good reflection of the underlying strength of the society's finances.

The meeting agreed to accept the annual accounts for 2020 and accepted the Treasurer's report (proposed by Mike Beazley, seconded by Doris Wood).

Mike thanked Alan Layng who had acted as the Independent Examiner at short notice, after Natasha Stanyer had been unable to do it as a result of family problems. It was agreed that Natasha be asked to be the Independent Examiner for the 2021 accounts, with Alan Layng in reserve.

5. Membership Secretary's Report

The Membership Report had been circulated with the papers for the meeting.

Mike Beazley highlighted that in August 2021 membership stood at 420, which represented a net increase of 16% during the previous 12 months – a reflection of how well the society adapted to the cancellation of all in-person events and quickly developed a strong online programme which enabled us to reach out to a wider range of people.

The meeting agreed to accept the Membership report (proposed by Mike Beazley, seconded by Angela Iliff).

6. Election of Trustees

Eleven people had been nominated as Trustees. As the constitution allows for up to 12 Trustees, this meant that there was no need for an election and the following were elected for the period until the end of the next AGM in 2022 (proposed by Hugh Wood, seconded by Angela Iliff):

Mike Beazley, John Fleming, Lesley Frith, Annie Garthwaite, Elizabeth Holley, Philip Hume, Angela Iliff, Yve James, Clive Jupp, Kirsten Lawton-Smith, Hugh Wood.

7. Programme for 2021 - 2022

The 2021 - 2022 programme of conferences, lectures and study trips had been circulated at the meeting.

9. Date of 2022 AGM

It was agreed that the date of the AGM in 2022 would be Saturday 26th March at Weobley Village Hall, to be followed by a presentation by Elizabeth and Brian Holley on Medieval Weobley

The formal meeting closed at 19.45.

Members Present:

Howard Lambert, Lorraine Munn, Bill Jackson, Annie Garthwaite, Elizabeth Holley, Brian Holley, Doris Wood, Angela Iliff, Jason O'Keefe, Kirsten Lawton-Smith, Hugh Wood, Mike Beazley, Philip Hume

Apologies received from:

Pam Benstead, Daniella Bergman, Stephen Chanko, Terry Couzens, Robert Davies, Paul Dryburgh, Owen Elias, John and Inge Fleming, Lesley Frith, Trefor Griffith, John and Zsuzsa Grove, Linda Hart, Yve James, Caroline Johnson, Clive Jupp, John Kenyon, Juliet Lewis, Rhodri & Debra Lewis, Tony & Linda Mahalski, Liz Molyneux, Tom Mortimer, Peter & Elizabeth Newman, Fran Norton, Guy Parneix, Gail & John Peacock, Valentina & Ray Peate, Liz Phillips, Susan Powell-Jones, Denise Price, Michael Ray, Anthony Rich, Stella Seaton-Sims, Laura Sommerville, Justin Soper, Trish Sowards, Natasha & Mark Stanyer, Keith Stenner, Helen Watt, Gareth Williams, Stefan Zachary